AB405 Parental Notification Lives Another Day – Keep up the Pressure

notdeadyet_thumbAlthough the AP reported on April 7 that AB405 – Parental Notification for Underage Girls Seeking an Abortion – would go to an interim study (dead for two years), heroic efforts led by Assemblyman Ira Hansen resurrected the bill. The Republican Assembly Caucus should be thanked for recognizing that the time has come for Nevada to protect teens, pre-teens and their parents.

On April 8, AB405 was re-referred from HHS to Judiciary.

A hearing will occur in the Assembly Judiciary Committee, Friday, April 10. All bills must be voted out of committee by midnight that very same day. This is a very quick turn around and it is imperative that all parents, grandparents and citizens who see the benefit of parental involvement in abortions sought by girls under the age of 18, call, email and/or visit the legislators listed below.

ACTION –> CALL, EMAIL, VISIT THE FOLLOWING COMMITTEE MEMBERS
YOUR MESSAGE: Thank you for giving AB405 a hearing. Please vote for a parent’s right to know about their underage daughter’s abortion. [As you develop your personal message, remember this is a bipartisan issue that does not cut pro-life/pro-choice. This is about parents fulfilling their parental rights and responsibilities]
Chair Ira Hansen, 775-684-8851  Ira.Hansen@asm.state.nv.us    (Be sure to thank him for saving the bill and taking it into his committee)
Erv Nelson, 775-684-8833  Erv.Nelson@asm.state.nv.us
Michele Fiore775-684-8829  Michele.Fiore@asm.state.nv.us
David Gardner 775-684-8549  David.Gardner@asm.state.nv.us
Brent Jones 775-684-8573 Brent.Jones@asm.state.nv.us
P.K. O’Neill 775-684-8825  PK.Oneill@asm.state.nv.us
Victoria Seaman 775-684-8847  Victoria.Seaman@asm.state.nv.us
Jim Wheeler 775-684-8843  Jim.Wheeler@asm.state.nv.us
Elliot Anderson 775-684-8835  Elliot.Anderson@asm.state.nv.us
Nelson Araujo 775-684-8599  Nelson.Araujo@asm.state.nv.us
Olivia Diaz 775-684-8553  Olivia.Diaz@asm.state.nv.us
James Ohrenschall 775-684-8819  James.Ohrenschall@asm.state.nv.us
Tyrone Thompson 775-684-8569  Tyrone.Thompson@asm.state.nv.us

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s